chemnitz6-normal.jpg


(Right, so Merja and Dieter did a wonderful job with their presentations: together with our translator and the library representative she pulled a pretty convincing live "radio drama" of her play Särkynyt malja. Dieter read excerpts from his book  Täällä Pohjoisnavan alla in German. I didn't quite understand why "kotipizza"* is so funny to Germans, even though I've (almost) read his book myself. Turns out the word koti sounds like kot, which means shit.)

* Kotipizza is a Finnish pizza restaurant chain


chemnitz7-normal.jpg

(1: The following morning I heard the news about the railway workers' strike in East Germany and how there wouldn't be any train traffic between Leipzig and Chemnitz for the next 14 hours. - It's better to take a bus if you want to get to Berlin. - Oh cock!
2: Most of us left already that morning, only me and Dieter stayed in Chemnitz. He had a show in the outskirts of the town while I had... nothing. No work. A day off.)


chemnitz8-normal.jpg
(1: When I was taing care of some business at the hotel reception it revealed to me that I had turned 26 during the night. The receptionist saw it was necessary to give me a mini bottle of sparkling wine.
2: Chemnitz truly is a beautiful city for aimless wandering, but my own lack of language skills limited my options greatly. I then found myself in the company of other mute foreigners.
3: I felt like sitting down with my comrades, to think about what I should do with my day off or if I just should drift to sleep right there, right now. The hotel was, after all, 200 meters away.)